Week 1: Google Classroom

An integral part of classroom learning and feedback nowadays has become Google Classroom. Google Classroom is a place where students can communicate with their teacher and classmates on assignments for class, among other things. Both parties access the classroom with their gmail account, and can either join the teacher’s classroom or the teacher can add students to his or her classroom.

Teachers can post assignments for students to complete and submit in the same place while monitoring students’ progress as well as who has complete the assignment, who has not finished, and who turns it in late. Teachers can comment or make suggestions on student work completed in a Google Doc or slideshow, and students can review the comments or suggestions and make changes.

When teachers assign work in Google Classroom, students don’t need to worry about losing assignments or completed work; everything is save in the classroom or in their Google drive. Teachers can also post resources, in-class notes or assignments, and any other information about the class that students might need to access. If students have access to a computer and the internet, they will be able to complete their assignments. For teachers, this is a huge benefit in terms of helping students who are absent; students will be able to access any missing work within their Google Classroom, and teachers can post directions and resources related to what the student might have missed in class.

 

In our school, we almost always have access to computers for our classes when we need them. Because of this, I have done more with Google classroom in the past two years because I feel that it has come to benefit my students greatly. I post the weekly slideshows with class notes so that students can access that material as their working independently in my classroom or at their homes. I post writing assignments that students are able to complete in Google Docs, cutting down on paper (and saving me from deciphering bad handwriting!) and helping me to keep track of who has submitted their assignment and who has not— eliminating anyone’s excuse of losing the assignment.

Recently I experimented with a group project through Google Classroom in response to a text we read in class. I broke students into four main groups based on results from their winter STAR test and analyzed the results of each group. Within each group I created mini-groups of three to five (depending on class size) and chose a focus skill based on our standards and the STAR test results for that group. Each mini-group was assigned a slideshow that I posted in their class’s Google Classroom.

Each slideshow contained four questions that built off of each other, leading to an understanding of their focus skill. Students got together in their mini-groups and logged into their Google Classroom. Each student was assigned the slideshow for their group, so students could work independently if that suited their learning style better. Students  who were absent could still complete their questions, and students who didn’t finish in class could complete it at home.

This activity garnered an overall positive response from my students. They expressed an appreciation for being able to work with their groups or independently on a “project” that was related to what they read. A few offered suggestions on how to improve it. As a teacher, having students work on a project I created in Google Classroom, with the directions clearly laid out and available to each of them, I was able to monitor their work, assist students who needed it, and most importantly, allow students to work on skills they need as individuals.

This weekend I will be reviewing their responses, which I’ll use to plan a similar activity for the coming school week.

11 thoughts on “Week 1: Google Classroom

  1. Google Classroom seems like a great tool to use for collaboration and definitely for communication! My big question (and maybe others have answers too?) is how do we accommodate for students who do not have access to a computer or internet at home. While I know this is not a problem for most students, there is still a small population of students who would be unable to complete certain tasks simply because of situations at home.

    Thoughts?

    Like

  2. Thanks for asking! I think in most cases with my students, I allow an extension for them to finish the assignment at school. In other cases, I’m able to give a hard copy of an assignment or accept a paper copy, depending on the assignment.

    Like

  3. I’m glad you chose to review Google classroom- I’ve heard a lot about it but haven’t had a chance to look into it much! I also appreciate that you gave us an example of how you’ve been using it. What does the interface for Google classroom look like? In other words, when you say students “log in to their Google classroom,” is there like a home page with links/folders/etc that you’ve created? Do you find that there are ways you like to personalize your “classroom”?

    Like

    1. When I have students log into their Google classroom, they can see everything that I’ve posted in there— assignments, announcements, resources, links. Sometimes it does get bogged down when there are a lot of posts and students have a slightly difficult time finding older posts, but for the most part they figure it out quickly. You can “tag” assignments or posts and I think students can click on the tag to see what has been posted that way. The only way I’ve found to personalize it is that you can set a “theme”, like a blog, which in this case is just the photo at the top of the page.

      Like

  4. I learned about google classroom a few years ago and several teachers in our district have really loved using Google Classroom. I’m a little hesitant to try it with kindergartners. I know there is a popular kindergarten teacher named Christine Pinto that uses it effectively in her classroom. She is going to be at ASTE this year. I was able to get my district to send me and I’m really excited to be able to attend her class.

    Like

    1. That would be really fascinating to see how teachers use with those younger students! I can imagine it would be a challenge at first— even some of my 6th graders struggle when they’re first introduced to it…

      Like

  5. I also reviewed Google Classroom this week. I haven’t been using it for long, so I am definitely new to it, but I am enjoying it and so are my 4th grade students. I have not found an easy way to make groups. Is there a way? I have made groups, but I have to go in and individually put each student in the group I am making. I would like to make a couple of permanent groups for the students that sit at the same table, but I haven’t found a way to do that, so if you know, will you please pass that information on to me.

    Like

    1. That’s exactly what I’ve had to do. I will talk to some of my coworkers who are more proficient at Google classroom and see if there’s a way to make groups, because I haven’t found it yet.

      Like

  6. Hi Samantha – My second try here leaving a comment. My fellow teachers use Google Classroom and love it. I find the prep work really cumbersome. As a language arts teacher I feel like the conversation we have all through class represents part of what students are learning – the ability to communicate verbally – to talk about ideas. However, that being said, I could totally see how Google classroom might allow me some flexibility in terms of differentiating my classrooms. So based on what you had to say, I am going to give it another look.

    Like

Leave a comment